The Society for Petroleum Engineers Lagos Section 61

The Society of Petroleum Engineers Lagos Section 61 was approved as a section by SPE International Board on the 26th of March 1973. The section is located in Lagos State, Nigeria. The section membership is about 1008. The Section was 40 years on the 26th of 2013. SPE Lagos 61 Section activities are sponsored by international, national and indigenous oil and gas companies.

The Section key programs are monthly technical meetings, distinguished lecture series, young professional, and the section supports student programs by providing annual subvention and scholarship to the student chapters. Five student chapters are under the section, University of Ibadan Student Chapter, University of Lagos Student Chapter, Lagos State University Student Chapter, Covenant University Student Chapter and Obafemi Awolowo Student Chapter.

The section organizes Catch Them Young Program (CTY) to share the vision of SPE International with secondary school students and primary school pupils. The objective of the “Catch Them Young” program is to encourage the pursuit of a career in the oil industry among secondary level students. Key focus of the CTY program is:

list-3-marker Career talk on the prospects and requirements for a career in oil and gas industry
list-3-marker Where possible industry sites visit to create long lasting impression
list-3-marker Essay and quiz competition to select the best three students from the section.
list-3-marker Presentation of awards (cash and certificates) to the three best students at section AGM.

From 1973 the Section has had thirty seven (37) section chairmen to manage the affairs of the section as listed below: SPE Past Chairmen

spe2 (1)

The SPE Foundation

The SPE Foundation, established in 1977 by former SPE presidents, is dedicated to raising funds to support key SPE programs. It helps to ensure excellence in SPE Programs through a partnership among individuals, industry and the Society. It is made up of all living past SPE presidents and is directed by an executive committee.


Register | Lost your password?